Paul Harris Recognition Awards

The Rotary Club of Oshawa-Parkwood members believe in the value and importance of The Rotary Foundation.

At the May 29, 2018 Annual Paul Harris Awards Night, we celebrated the donations as 30% of our club members reached significant levels of achievement in their givings to The Rotary Foundation: 2 new members became Benefactors, 6 members reached their first, second and fifth Paul Haris Award levels, and president Ted Morrison and Sharron became Major Gifts Donors.
The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.
Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.
The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.
The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006 including the following from the Oshawa-Parkwood club.
PHF Recognition Recipients
Dave Andrews PHF+6                  1986
Devon Biddle (deceased)             1985
Janice Coupland PHF+1                2016
Peter Dueck                                   2016
Pat Dyck PHF+1                             2011
Al Finnigan PHF                             2015
Hilda Finnigan PHF+3                   1997
Larry Hurren PHF+7                      1988
Robert Kipling PHF                        2014
Robert Koski PHF+1                      1992
Robbie Larocque PHF+3               2013
David Mankiewicz PHF                 2005
Mike McLaren PHF                        2017
Ted Morrison PHF+8                     2001
David Penney PHF+4                     2016
Linda Porritt PHF+2                       2017
Kris Sachdeva PHF+6                     1997
Robert Stewart PHF +1                  2016
Lennis Trotter PHF+5                    1993
PHF Awarded to Members By the Club
Dave Andrews-  four times
Pat Dyck – once
Al Finnigan -once
Hilda Finnigan- twice
Larry Hurren -once
Robert Koski- once
Robbie Larocque -Twice
David Mankiewicz- once
Michael McLaren- once
Ted Morrison- twice
Linda Porritt – once
Kris Sachedeva- Once
Lennis Trotter- twice
Members of the Community Awarded a PHF
Terry Johnston
Police Chief Mike Ewles
Donna Lee Coady
The Waltzing Weasel
Esther Trotter
Ron Mortson
Bill Allen
Sharon Clark
Linda Biddle 
Sharron Morrison